Registrations open for Manx Rally Championship


Registration opened late last week for the 2011 Eurocars Motorsport Manx Rally Championship following approval of the regulations of the MSA.

The series which is jointly promoted by Manx Auto Sport and Druidale Motor Club is once again very grateful to Eurocars Motorsport who are continuing their sponsorship for a fifth year. This support provides the participating events with a fantastic scrutineering and documentation venue free of charge without which events  would incur costs to rent such facilities.

The opening round of the championship, the Manx Auto Sport Chris Kelly Memorial Rally sponsored by Mann Construction, taking place this weekend there have already been a number of registrations made through the online facility.

Heading those is the Father and Daughter team of Nigel and Imogen Cannell, the later contesting her first stage rally event, who will start the event at number 3 in their Mitsubishi Lancer Evo 9. Also early registrations are the 2009 and 2010 co-driving champions Paul McCann and Rob Fagg.

The only other crew of Driver and Co-Driver to register is that of Matthew Davison and Tash Ellison. The pairing have put in some good performances over the previous 12 months and the experience they have gained could see them figure in the series if they can be consistent over the five rounds.

Regulations are available from the Championship website,, where you may also sign up for the series online or download the relevant forms for paper submission.

The Team Championship will run again in 2011 and crews are encouraged to enter this. Teams can be made up of a maximum of three drivers but only one may compete in a car is Class E on each event. But while teams are made up of three drivers only the top two in the final classified result of each round are eligible to score points.

To be eligible for points in all aspects of the championship you must be registered before the close of documentation for the round you wish to score points from.

Remember there is no cost to enter either the individual or team championships.